Despite the horrible weather in Tokyo this past weekend, I braved it in the name of shopping.  And the new Marc Jacobs store in Minami Aoyama was the only store that I actually planned on hitting before I got to Tokyo.  The store itself is very cleanly designed and, in my opinion, actually kinda dates the gigantic Prada flagship across the street.  B1 is mens, 1F is accessories and tees and 2F is womens.  There are gorgeous fishtanks along the stairs to the second floor.  I also enjoyed the fact that the store did not have the standard umbrella trash can nor one of those umbrella plastic trash bag dispensers.  As soon as I stepped through the door, a saleswoman stepped forward to offer me a re-usable heavy plastic bag.   The service was excellent; I saw a salesperson bringing champagne to a customer downstairs in mens.

Generally I don’t buy western brands in Japan because the prices can be double or even triple what they are at home (also the yen is pretty strong vs. the dollar now), but if it’s a Japan-exclusive item, I cave.  As is this tee which reads AOYAMARCJACOBS, a portmanteau of Aoyama, the area where the store is located, and Marc Jacobs.

Marc Jacobs. Tokyo, Minami Aoyama 5-23-7. Exit Omotesando station via A5 exit, turn right, go straight and turn right at second corner. On your left, across from Prada.

